G-A-S Competition / Best Comedy

Jury Preis 500 Euro

Sponsored by:
PZ Systeme

In the category D-A-CH Competition a prize for the best comedy short film will be awarded. It is a jury award. Approved for the category are productions from Germany, Austria and Switzerland.

Winner

Die Schwingen des Geistes von Albert Meisl / Filmakademie Wien

Jury statement:

A rare bird, an even rarer record, a failed musicologist always struggling for composure and a diametrically up-and-coming colleague form the starting point for an ingenious comedy about an unrecognized talent, which finally opens up the possibility of showing the world its abilities. As calculating as the young scientist proceeded last, so impulsively is the hitherto failed. Albert Meisl shows with magnificent laconic dialogues a great power of observation for the search for recognition and success. It always takes luck!

Alexander Krötsch

After high school he studied media and communication science in Augsburg since 2003 and worked in several film production companies in Munich. 2006 he switched to producing and media economics at the University of Television and Film Munich, where he produced a number of short movies, that run on festivals and won awards.

After his studies he produced the first feature THREE HOURS that was distributed theatrically in Germany and founded the film production company “brave new films” in 2013. With his company he realized several documentaries and a documentary series as well as the Grimme-Award nominated feature fiction movie THE PROCEDURE. His company focusses on the development of author driven arthouse, genre movies and documentaries for German and international distribution. He participated in various international co-production programs. He was nominated for his work for the Studio Hamburg Nachwuchspreis und the First Steps Award and his films received several awards on festivals.

Isabelle Bertolone

Born in Siegen in 1990. From 2011 to 2017 she studied production and media economics at University of Television and Film Munich. Work as a producer: Her documentary "Nadeshda " was awarded for the German Human Rights Film Award in 2014, and "An ideal place" won the prize for Best Film in the section “Perspektive Deutsches Kino” at the Berlin International Film Festival in 2015. Her final film "Luft" will be released in German cinemas in 2019. The docu-series "sooner or later", which she produced together with Marius Ehlayil received the First Steps Award 2018.
Since 2017, Isabelle and Marius have been VGF Fellows at Munich Film Center with their company wirFILM. They are currently preparing three feature films a series and finish a documentary.

Ludwig Sporrer

Niederbayer with heart and mind – an enthusiastic cultural activist, film curator, presenter, organizer and film jockey. During his studies of political science, sociology and visual anthropology he co-founded the student cinema U-Kino at the LMU, was theatre director of the Munich cinema Lupe 2 and from 2005 to 2011 responsible for the legendary TRÄUMER parties. Since the first edition he has been a supporter of the Underdox Filmfestival.
He founded the Queer Film Festival Munich (QFFM) and was its director until the end of 2016. Together with Dunja Bialas he has organized the Filmkunstwochen München since 2016. He is a founding member and board member of QueerScope - Verband der unabhängigen queeren Filmfestivals in Deutschland as well as co-initiator and speaker of "Festivalarbeit gerecht gestalten!" and the resulting AG Festivalarbeit in verdi. He has been a member of Artechock since 2016 and writes about documentary films for kinozeit.de since 2019. For DOK.fest Munich he has been a programmer with a focus on German-speaking countries since 2011 and project manager of the DOK.tour since 2014. With further projects (BILDWERFER, SONIC ICONIC, RECLAIM THE STREETS) he explores the possibilities of cinema in public space.

D-A-CH Wettbewerb / Beste Komödie

Jury Preis 500 Euro

Sponsored by:
PZ Systeme

In der Kategorie D-A-CH Wettbewerb wird ein Preis für die beste Komödie vergeben. Es ist ein Jury Preis. Zugelassen für die Kategorie sind Produktionen aus Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz.

Gewinner

Der Sieg der Barmherzigkeit von Albert Meisl / Filmakademie Wien

Begründung der Jury:

Aus der Suche nach einem hellblauen Sakko mit Schalkragen, Bühnenkostüm einer österreichischen Popband aus den Sixties , entwickelt der Regisseur Albert Meisl eine absurde Geschichte des Großen im Kleinen und eine Dramatik, die das Lächerliche ans Verzweifelte bindet. Dass die Melange aus Missgeschicken, lügenhaft - hilfloser Höflichkeit, der Tücke des Objekts und Situations komik, kurz: dem hergebrachten komödientypischen groben Werkzeug zu einer bösen Miniatur der trostlosen Lage der Kulturträger und Wohlmeinenden wird, ist Meisls psychologischem Feinsinn und Rafael Haiders und Erwin Riedenschneiders karger Schauspielkunst zu verdanken.

Alexander Krötsch

Nach dem Abitur studierte er ab 2003 Medien und Kommunikationswissenschaften in Augsburg und arbeitete seit dieser Zeit bei verschiedenen Filmproduktionsfirmen in München. 2006 wechselte er an die Hochschule für Fernsehen und Film München in den Bereich Produktion und Medienwirtschaft und produzierte dort zahlreiche Kurzfilme, die auf internationalen Festivals liefen und mit Preisen ausgezeichnet wurden.

Nach dem Studium produzierte er das Spielfilmdebut DREI STUNDEN der deutschlandweit im Kino lief und gründete 2013 die Produktionsfirma schöne neue filme., mit der er mehrere Dokumentarfilme, sowie eine Dokuserie und den für den Grimmpreis nominierten Spielfilm DIE MASSNHAME realisierte. Mit seiner Firma entwickelt und produziert er Arthouse- und Genrefilme sowie Dokumentarfilme für den deutschen und internationalen Markt. Alexander Krötsch war Teilnehmer mehrerer internationaler Koproduktionsprogramme. Er war für seine Arbeit zum Studio Hamburg Nachwuchspreis und dem First Steps Award nominiert und seine Filme erhielten zahlreiche Auszeichnung auf Festivals.

Isabelle Bertolone

Geboren 1990 in Siegen. Von 2011 bis 2017 Studium der Produktion und Medienwirtschaft an der Hochschule für Fernsehen und Film München. Arbeit als Produzentin: Ihr Dokumentarfilm "Nadeshda" wurde 2014 für den Deutschen Menschenrechtsfilmpreis ausgezeichnet, "Ein idealer Ort" gewann 2015 bei den Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin den Preis als Bester Film der Sektion Perspektive Deutsches Kino. Ihr Abschlussfilm „Luft“ startet 2019 in deutschen Kinos. Die von ihr und Marius Ehlayil produzierte Doku- Serie „früher oder später“ erhielt den First Steps Award 2018.
Seit 2017 sind Isabelle und Marius mit ihrer Firma wirFILM VGF-Stipendiaten im Filmzentrum München. Aktuell bereiten sie drei Spielfilme und eine Serie vor und stellen einen Dokumentarfilm fertig.

Ludwig Sporrer

Niederbayer mit Herz und Verstand - sowie umtriebiger Kulturaktivist, Filmkurator, Moderator, Veranstalter und Filmjockey. Während seines Studiums der Politikwissenschaft, Soziologie und Visuellen Anthropologie hat er an der LMU das studentische Programmkino U-Kino mitgegründet, war Theaterleiter des Münchner Programmkinos Lupe 2 und von 2005 bis 2011 für die legendären TRÄUMER-Partys verantwortlich. Seit der ersten Edition ist er Unterstützer des das Underdox Filmfestival.
Er hat das Queer Film Festival München (QFFM) gegründet und bis Ende 2016 geleitet.
Zusammen mit Dunja Bialas organisiert er seit 2016 die Filmkunstwochen München.
Er ist Gründungsmitglied und Vorstand von QueerScope - Verband der unabhängigen queeren Filmfestivals in Deutschland sowie Mitinitiator und Sprecher von „Festivalarbeit gerecht gestalten!" und der daraus entstandenen AG Festivalarbeit in verdi. Seit 2016 ist er Mitglied bei Artechock und schreibt ab 2019 für kinozeit.de über Dokumentarfilm. Beim DOK.fest München ist er seit 2011 Programmer mit Schwerpunkt Deutschsprachiger Raum und seit 2014 Projektleiter der DOK.tour. Mit weiteren Projekten (BILDWERFER, SONIC ICONIC, RECLAIM THE STREETS) erforscht er die Möglichkeiten des Kinos im öffentlichen Raum.